CINNAMON BUNS, BUT WITH WAY MORE LEMON AND NO CINNAMON

So please note that I forgot to take a pic of these beauties right after I frosted them, which would have been the shot to use, but I perpetually forget to take pics, especially at work so you get the post plastic wrap pose…sorry!

Regardless of how they look above know that these tasted somewhere between a lemon dream and your favorite childhood Entennman’s danish.
I am not a fan of cinnamon buns, I believe this is due to the shopping mall overexposure of my youth. If you look up ‘sickly sweet’ in the (imaginary phrase) dictionary, there is a picture of a cinnamon bun.
What better to take a sharp knife through all that sugary goo, but LEMON. My idol/inspiration/wind beneath my wings (just kidding! maybe) Martha Stewart once said that the hardest part about being in prison was she was without fresh lemons. I could not agree more and in fact recently my own Grandmother got into it with a hospital nurse after being denied real lemon (which she knew was available in the cafeteria) for her tea.
I could even go so far as to suggest that the word onion could be changed to lemon in Julia Child’s famous statement regarding civilization.

I was asked to make a breakfasty item for diners to snack on on our patio at work while they waited for a table on the busy weekends. This is what I came up with. it has all of the decadence of a sticky bun with the fresh zing of lemon zest, juice and some ginger. Ahhhhhh Lemon!
Gucci knows what I am talking about.

One response to “CINNAMON BUNS, BUT WITH WAY MORE LEMON AND NO CINNAMON

  1. What a great idea – I love making cinnamon buns, but I’m not a fan of eating them. I think that would change drastically if they were lemon-flavored. Also, I totes just posted lemony blog as well! We are so same same! And finally, nice work bringing Gucci Mane onto the scene: I knew there was something I was forgetting.

Leave a comment