NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE IMPORTANCE OF AN IMMERSION BLENDER

This week is pure madness.

We are moving. In the midst of it all we still need to feed ourselves. This becomes quite a dilemma as more than half of my spices and cooking paraphernalia sit across town in an empty apartment. My mixing bowls and tools are boxed up, mocking me, for having packed them with days yet to go. Last night we did manage to eat a satisfying and simple meal thanks to my immersion blender, which I THANKFULLY forgot to pack.
But first, I need to mention where this idea came from. have you ever been to Tom Lenoard’s?
It’s kind of berserk in there with the singing animatrons, but they have tremendous deals from time to time on produce. It’s been helpful during these non farmers market Winter months and I do try to only buy local to local-ish produce when we go.

So the last time we were there, they had a jarred butternut squash pasta sauce that looked very interesting. Alas, I have a rule when it comes to buying sauce though, and that is, I don’t do it. ( I have my father to blame for this.) It is physically impossible for me to buy jarred sauce, I have to make Marty do it as otherwise I will just take it back out of the basket from shame.
So they had butternut squash for sale and I picked up a nice 3 lb specimen and forgot all about it. Then last night as we looked, forlornly into our empty fridge I remembered it!

Here is how it went down.

Orecchiette with Butternut Squash

1 3lb butternut squash peeled and diced
1 lb of Orecchiette
2 ribs of celery
1 large onion
3 cloves of garlic
tomato paste or leftover red pasta sauce
fresh parsley
salt and pepper
pecorino romano

Toss the squash in olive oil and salt it, Put in oven at350 for about a half hour until a knife slides through the largest piece easily. Set a pasta pot filled with water to a boil. Finely dice the celery and the onion and garlic and saute in oil and/or butter until translucent. When the squash is done, transfer to a sauce pot and add 1-1 1/2 cups of water, veg or chicken stock and/or white wine. Now blend, baby blend! Like I said I used handy immersion blender but a blender would work too I think, in batches.
Add the aromatics and blend them as well. Add the red sauce or some tomato paste (or maybe diced sun dried tomatoes!) and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper. When the pasta is done, drain (save a quarter cup of the water) it and toss the orecchiette into the sauce with a wee bit of that pasta water. Spoon into bowls and garnish with parsley and romano and dream about your new kitchen all unpacked and ready for business!

Leave a Reply

