HEARD! #9 OWEN LANE

I started Food Punk to create a space to celebrate food and music. Where else could I herald the magic of both Ramps and Pusha T? Cooking, like music, is an art. Both can be visceral, sensory experiences that transport, inspire and define us. I’ve often found that those who play with knives are also into ‘deep cuts’ of another nature. It is in this spirit that I bring you this series: HEARD! highlighting the music enthusiasts behind the line, the bar, the pass and the pen.

OwenHeard!

Owen Lane is Chef/owner (with his wife Tiffany) at Magpie in Richmond. He is a master of sausage and you should stop by Magpie first chance you get to sample his work. I’m happy to call him my friend.

What was the first live music performance you attended?

Skid Row opening for Aerosmith in like 89.
(Editor’s note: I too saw this tour!)

What was the most recent?

Alice Cooper and Iron fucking Maiden so awesome! Been wanting to do that since I was ten (thanks Doug!!)

What album/artist changed/defined/etc your life?

I would have to say Led Zeppelin’s Physical Graffiti. The Rover, Ten Years Gone, Sick Again… I mean, come on!

Do you have a musical equivalent to a guilty pleasure?

Guilty pleasure? Easy! Bryan Adams. Summer of 69, Run to You,
Cuts like a Knife and then obviously Cougar-Jack and Diane

What album is your go to for when you wanna smash stuff and life is sticking it to you?

Smashing shit…. This was a tough one. Because I usually try not to smash shit anymore but I would have to say Metallica anything before the Black Album. Preferably Ride the Lightning or Kill em All or Ministry’s Stigmata

What album is your go to for fist-pumping-this-is-the-best-ever-happy times?

Fist pumping good times easy AC/DC Let there be Rock the whole album- can’t go wrong!

What is on your turntable at home right now?

The Sword, Apocryphon and Legendary Shack Shackers

Music is so powerful and moving, you cry in happiness or sob in defeat. Food and music go hand in hand for me. It can change the tempo of my kitchen at the drop of a hat. I would have to say one of my favorite things is a kitchen to myself listening to whatever I am feeling that day and singing as loud as I can. That’s a good day!

Music in the kitchen a must! Nothing better than having a great night, and then a certain song comes on and the kitchen turns into a sing along. Sing alongs in my kitchen- there have been many. Beck’s Debra, Biz Markie’s Just a friend and anything Springsteen or Scott H. Biram to name a few.


Leave a Reply

