HEARD! #2 SEAN BROCK

I started Food Punk to create a space to celebrate food and music. Where else could I herald the magic of both Ramps and Pusha T? Cooking like music, is an art. Both can be visceral, sensory experiences that transport, inspire and even define us. I’ve often found that those who play with knives are also into ‘deep cuts’ of another nature. It is in this spirit that I bring you this series: HEARD! highlighting the music enthusiasts behind the line, the bar, the pass and the pen.

Mr. Brock needs no introduction, but here are a few facts: He has a crazy laugh. He has wrestled an alligator. He is a music fanatic and collects records.

Grainy Sean

What was the first live music performance you attended?

I saw Willie Nelson at the West Virginia State Fair with my Mom and Grandma. They cried their eyes out when he sang Blue Eyes Cryin in the Rain.


What was the most recent?

Last show that I saw was…….Holly Williams in Charleston, but always get to see lots of great Honky Tonk on Broadway in Nashville.

What album/artist changed/defined/etc your life?

I really connect with The Drive By Truckers. They write songs about things that I can relate with having grown up in the South. I am a pretty die hard fan. You should see my t shirt collection.

Do you have a musical equivalent to a guilty pleasure?

Hmmmmm…..I’ll sneak a listen to 311 sometimes. When I’m alone.


What band is your go to for when you wanna smash stuff and life is sticking it to you?

Lamb of God

What band is your go to for fist-pumping-this-is-the-best-ever-happiness times?

Wild Cub

What is on your turntable at home right now? Or the last album you listened to?

Earnest Tubb, Let’s Turn Back the Years

Can you tell me a bit about how you feel about music?

Music makes you forget about everything. When you are listening to music that you enjoy, nothing else matters. I am always listening to music and when I am not, there is always music stuck in my head. I love music as much as I love food. There is nothing better than discovering a new band that you now always listen to. I also love introducing people to new music. I am always searching for new stuff to listen to. Right now I’m listening to a lot of heavy stuff. Just discovered Bison BC and can’t stop listening to them. And sometimes I go through phases where all I want to listen to is Rick Ross. I’m a total weirdo when it comes to musical taste. Well, I guess I’m just a weirdo all the way around.

Do you have a desert island jam?

Stuck on a desert island and only had one album?!…….

I listen to a shit load of Elvis… and I also really like Lionel Richie

Leave a Reply

