ONE DAY IN RVA #3 EVERYBODY WATCH THE DINOSAUR

One Day in RVA is a series on the fabulous folks who enrich our city on the daily.

Photo by Ted Elmore

Photo by Ted Elmore

Who Are you Really?

My name is Brian McDaniel. (Editor’s note: AKA Brian McDinosaur) I moved to Richmond in 2006 and I most likely will be living here for a long time. I work at Ledbury as a blogger, content coordinator, and an occasional photographer. I also have my own blogs brianmcdinosaur.tumblr.com and dirtyrichmond.com. The second is taking a bit of a break right now, but is still really good!

What’s in your fridge?

I sadly don’t take the time to cook anymore and surely don’t take the time to clean. My fridge is a joke and I really need to clean it out sometime soon. My roommate probably hates me.
Fridge - dont judge me0
What was the last album or song you listened to?

Tennis
– Young and Old.

What did you do today in RVA?
Saturday. I slept in close to noon because I stayed up much later than expected the night before. We hosted a party at work for the re-launch of our showroom and our office was pretty much at shoulder-to-shoulder capacity the entire evening. It was a good time and there were plenty of drinks to go around.

Harrison Street Cafe

I try to go to Harrison Street Café every weekend and this is where I began my day – with a breakfast burrito.

Breakfast_Burrito001

For 2012, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to buy at least one vinyl album per month. This easily multiplied to more than one album per month and I became good friends with the dudes from Steady Sounds in the process. I hadn’t made it to the shop in a while (maybe 2 weeks) so I stopped by and found a copy of Otis Redding’s Otis Blue. Perfect!
Steady Sounds

I wanted to see what was going on in Carytown and maybe do some shopping so I headed that way. Ok, ok, I went because American Apparel was having a sale, but I didn’t see anything I wanted. Carytown is a unique part of the city, a long strip of shops and restaurants and traffic can be miserable on the weekends.
Carytown001

I headed back home shopping bag-less and needed to catch up on some things for work. I was getting hungry and I recently rekindled my love for huevos rancheros. Kuba Kuba is a Cuban restaurant no more than three blocks away from my house so I called in an order for pick up.

This is when my day goes down hill.
I ate all of this gorgeous heaping of food and then took a nap for the next 2.5 hours.
Huevos Rancheros

I woke up and dallied some more and then eventually made my way to my favorite bar in the entire world – Cous Cous, which is sadly closing at the end of the month.

Cous Cous

This is a picture of Cous Cous a few months ago when my friend’s funk and soul band played a show there.
By now it’s probably past midnight – my reporting duties are over!

One response to “ONE DAY IN RVA #3 EVERYBODY WATCH THE DINOSAUR

  1. Otis Blue is the real deal. Great “day in the life” post.

Leave a Reply

