BEST FRIEND COOKIES

One day a long time ago, a little bird came to my birthday party and gave me a version of these cookies all wrapped up darling in a chinese to go container. I was SO impressed and knew this was a woman I needed to have in my life. Almost ten years later we are still hanging out and having fun and making food for each other. So I made these for her bridal party the other day.


1/2 cup of roasted almonds
1/2 cup of toasted desiccated coconut
2 cups flour
8 oz butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla or 1 vanilla bean
Process the nuts into a fine flour like texture, do not over process or it will be almond butter time. Cream butter and sugar in a mixer. Add vanilla, salt,
nut flour and toasted coconut. Add the flour in a couple batches. Turn dough into a disk and wrap in parchment. Let chill a good hour. Roll out the dough and cut into adorable little shape of your choice. Bake at 350 for 10 to 12 minutes but if you use a tiny cutter like I did, you have to watch those babies. I got cocky on my last batch and they burned.

Fill with jam of your choice. This was hard for me as I knew I was using almond and coconut and wanted to do a citrus jam but then that seemed… kinda gross? I kept thinking “Lime in the coconut, and mix it all up ”
You know, that drugged out Harry Nilsson song? So anyay the thought of lime jam just did not fly, even though I have had really good lime jam. I dunno I went with Raspberry. I let the filled cookies rest overnight on the pan covered by paper towels. This way the jam gets a little stiff.
I have to tell you these cookies are the type of cookies you can build a great friendship on. You should bake them and give them to someone you want to be friends with.
Trust me on this.

One response to “BEST FRIEND COOKIES

  1. YAY! Not only was the thought behind these awesome, but they tasted incredible. I ate them in one sitting and now I’m sad cause they’re all gone….

    Thank you so much for not thinking I was a weirdo for bringing you cookies all those years ago!

Leave a Reply

