FORBIDDEN MAC AND CHEESE

The other day during the Snowmagedden/Snowpocalypse/Snotorious B.I.G. or what have you, I was compelled by an un-f-withable force to make Macaroni and Cheese for dinner. Once the desire for such a meal strikes, it is impossible to ignore. Especially when it’s snowing every which way but loose and the wind is blowing straight from Canada or wherever it is cold winds come from, right through your face.
By the time I got off the subway and made it out of the slushy, messy streets I was mad with ideas for an over the top mac and cheese.
One that would be fitting such a ruthless winter day.
I turned to Martha, natch, as this recipe is renown for it’s rich and satiny sauce, not to mention it’s utter disregard for caloric intake. It’s a winner to be sure.

However, I was feeling a little ‘down home’.
A little less mornay, a little more custard-y if you feel me.
Have you ever happend upon a place that serves mac and cheese in slabs that have a thick roof of melted cheese and morsels of cheese clinging, lovingly throughout the pasta?

What I came up with was inspired by the gifted cook, Miss Edna Lewis. Whom sadly, we lost four years ago tomorrow. I used Raclette, for it’s melting abilities and Roomkaas cos I love a creamy Gouda.

Forbidden Mac and Cheese in honor of Edna Lewis
16 oz macaroni
5 ounces extra-sharp cheddar cheese cut into chunks ( I used Pimento Cheese!!! )
2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon mustard powder
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
1 teaspoon cayeene pepper
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
2/3 cup sour cream
2 eggs, beaten
2 to 2 1/2 cups milk
8 ounces grated extra-sharp cheese ( I used Raclette and Roomkaas)
Put a pasta pot onto boil, don’t forget to salt the dickens out of that water. I put my cheeses in the freezer so that it is easier to grate them.
Mix spices and flour together. In another bowl, beat two eggs, add sour cream, milk and spices to this mixture. Put over heat and when simmering, add the shredded cheese, stir until melted and uniform. You can tweak here and add more cheese, or more milk, whatever you’d like to get the mac and cheese experience you are looking for. Take off heat. Drain your pasta ( make sure you do not overcook it, as it is going to hang out in the oven for a bit, later) and add to cheese sauce. Find a nice casserole dish to bake it in. Sprinkle on bread crumbs which you have heated with a little butter and garlic in a saucepan till browned OR just shred more cheese over it. 350 for 30 minutes ought to be good.
I hope Miss Lewis would be proud.

* I did not get a nice shot of the finished product due to some dead batteries, but trust me on this.
** music is John Buck and His Blazers, Forbidden City

3 responses to “FORBIDDEN MAC AND CHEESE

  1. P.S. It’s really hard to shoot yourself making food with a Flip. The shot where I am scraping the cheese into the pot, I am literally holding the flip in the crook of my neck and chest. Just, you know..FYI

  2. OMG, I love the video!

  3. Yeah the video rules!

Leave a Reply

