LOST LEMON WEEKEND

When it is cold and dark outside I crave Lemons. I drink seltzer with lemon. I make lemon desserts. I squeeze them onto anything I am eating, especially greens.
If you take a look around the food wide web, I am not the only one. Lemons are like the food equivalent to those Seasonal Affective Disorder lights, I think.
So many recipes posted in these months feature both the plain old Persian or Eureka varieties and of course Meyer lemons as they are in season.

Well, Trader Joe’s by my apt had Meyer’s so I snatched them up quick. Friday evening rolled around and I was too exhausted to bake so I took one of those babies and decided to make a Meyer Gimlet.

Drinking is almost as gratifying as baking, right?

Like Juniper berries, Meyers are super floral and fragrant and it turned out to be a hit… um for me as I was the only who drank it! MLK is strictly beer and bourbon, heavy on the beer.

This drink is sort of like a regular Gin Gimlet’s softer younger and sweeter sister.

Meyer Lemon Gimlet
4 oz gin (I used Bombay)
1/2 oz fresh Meyer Lemon juice
1 oz Meyer lemon simple syrup ( 2 tblsp ea. juice and sugar boiled and cooled)
Mix the ingredients and some ice, in cocktail shaker, pour into a martini glass garnish with lemon rind sliver.
TASTY!

By Sunday I was ready to put the apron on and with my remaining three lemons made possibly the best lemon cake I have ever tasted. It is so bright and deeply lemony, but has one tricky step…

BEST DAMN MEYER LEMON CAKE
Adapted from this recipe here from Saveur.
(mine is easier!)

8 tbsp. butter
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. fine salt
1 1/3 cups sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk ( I used rice milk)
I vanilla beant
Zest and juice of 2 meyer lemons ( I used almost 3)

Heat oven to 350°.
Grease up a loaf pan.
Sift flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside. ( I rarely sift)
Zest and juice lemons and add the milk to this.
Mix butter, sugar and scraped vanilla seeds in an electric mixer until uniformly fluffy.
One at a time, add in eggs and incorporate.
Add the flour mixture and milk/lemon mixture in 3 batches, beginning and ending with the flour. Beat until incorporated but not too much, once you scrape the bowl you can continue to stir with a spoon/spatula.
Pour into pan and bake until a toothpick comes out clean and dry for about an hour more or less. Check up on it, you know how we do.

Okay this is the HARDEST PART. ARE YOU READY?

Let the cake cool and invert it. Once it is cool to the touch, wrap it up and let it sit for 24 hours.omg.yes. before you serve it.
I know, it’s crazy- but do not doubt me on this. Especially if you love lemons.
I cut it into slices and topped with unsweetened whipped cream and zest, but you could slather a nice lemon glaze on it as well.


2 responses to “LOST LEMON WEEKEND

  1. Both look so beautiful.

  2. i’m making that cake right now! and the house smells better than it has ever!

Leave a Reply

