HOMEMADE EGGNOG IS NO JOKE


If you have no issues with consuming eggs and dairy, you should really make eggnog at home from scratch.
Now, I love eggnog and I do buy it. My brand of choice is Ronnybrook Farms. All of their products are fantastic and I look forward to the eggnog every year and I did indeed buy some last week.
For the 7th Annual Cookie Party this year though, I wanted to try to make it from scratch. Just look at that bowl! What is that? How can it qualify as a drink you ask?
I’m not sure.
However, it was straight up RAVISHED by all who came (and who were not vegan or freaked about eating raw eggs). That said, if you intend on making this get the freshest, organic eggs you can find.
I used Craig Claiborn’s recipe from the Times that ran back in 2007. The recipe which was originally printed in 1958, states to serve with a spoon and though that is NOT an exaggeration, I found the resulting whipped mousse has a definite lightness to it. A couple of adventurous folk even mixed my husband’s vegan version in to make it easier to sip.
The two beverages separated into a sort of ‘eggnog sunset’
if you fancy a nog at all, I urge you to experiment. I only used 8 eggs and it seemed fine. Do you dare to use all 12?

Craig Claiborn’s Eggnog as adapted by Foodpunk:
12 eggs separated ( I used  8.)
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup brandy
1 cup bourbon
( I kept the booze at 2 cups…sheepish grin)
3 pints cream ( I used 2)
1 -2 cups of milk to dilute yes, I just typed that ( I used about 1.5, I think)
nutmeg

Beat the egg yolks with the sugar until thick.

Add the bourbon and Cognac while beating at slow speed.
Chill for several hours. (I chilled for 2 hours.)

Add the salt to the egg whites. Beat until almost stiff.

In another bowl, whip the cream.

Fold the whipped cream into the yolk mixture, then fold that mixture into beaten egg whites. As shown above. Chill 1 hour. ( I chilled for maybe 30 minutes)

Serve in punch cups with a spoon. Grate nutmeg on top.

Leave a Reply

