LAST NAME CRAZY, FIRST NAME MUSTARD.

It is a close race for my favorite condiment. I have already confessed my feelings when it comes to Mayo. Truthfully though, mustard is close at it’s heels and gets ahead on the regular. So last week I had a thought. Wouldn’t it be nice to open up a gift and find some delicious homemade mustard in there! Yes! It would!
Now my allegiances in the mustard world lean toward the Dijon and the spicy. If I can’t tell it’s in there, than it is not doing it’s job.
First thing I did was to find a couple types of mustard seed. I found yellow mustard seed in my pantry but set out to Sahadi’s to find a dark seed to add depth and fire. Next I got some dry white wine of the french variety. I wanted it to have the kick of Dijon but the coarse “git er done” qualities of a brown pub mustard. A working man’s mustard that can class it up if need be.

I wanted to make enough for giving but have some for us as well, so if you just want to try just one small batch divide these quantities by 4.

12 tablespoons yellow mustard seeds

10 tablespoons brown mustard seeds

1 and 1/3 cup drinking-quality white wine

1 and 1/3 cup white wine vinegar

3 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon white pepper

1 teaspoon allspice

Soak all ingredients overnight in a non reactive bowl. I soaked mine for about 20 hours. Transfer into a food processor and whirl till it’s the consistency you want. I sterilized some jars and used a pastry bag to fill them.
As mustard is one of those blank palette foods, like butter and mayo, this is the gateway to all sorts of flavors. There’s the obvious of course, honey, beer, red wine, but what about garlic and ginger, chiles or fig! And what about mustard powders? I need more occasions that require homemade gifting!!

One response to “LAST NAME CRAZY, FIRST NAME MUSTARD.

  1. The diva that I am, I assume I’m getting some of this. AND I CAN’T WAIT!

Leave a Reply

