PICKLED ONIONS FOR TACOS

My wonderful and darling friend Molly whom I miss ferociously, taught me to do this to red onions.

Slice red onions thinly ( I use a mandoline)
Squeeze lots of fresh lime juice on them
Keep refrigerated for a few hours

It’s kind of like onion ceviche and they turn limp and DELICIOUS and make a dazzling accompaniment to tacos of all kinds and sandwiches and anything else that needs a sassy kick in this warm weather. Do it.

Sidenote: They look like tentacles, don’t they?

5 responses to “PICKLED ONIONS FOR TACOS

  1. I can’t eat tacos without them anymore!! Love you Food Punk!

  2. Little suggest…add a little rice wine vinegar in the mix and taste. Also very good to do with radish onion cucumber and carrot on Bahn Mi

  3. This is the answer to my prayers. Thanks!

  4. Just had lunch at Pescados China Street today, and got the roasted chicken tacos. They had pickled onions on them – so delicious. I will have to try this out at home as well!

  5. Do you think this could be done in a fermenting crock? I was thinking of trying mine out with this recipe.

Leave a Reply

